Once you have logged in to simcision, you will be automatically redirected to the my models section, provided you have a valid license.
- In the right area you can see all models in the currently selected folder. You can read more about this in the my models section.
- Use the menu to access the model repository of your teams. You can learn more about this in the teams section.
- Shared with me: In this folder you will find all models that other simcision users have shared with you.
- Example models: In this folder you will find public example models from simcision.
Shared with me
In the shared with me section you will find all models that have been shared with you by other simcision users. As soon as a user shares a simcision model with you, you will also receive an email that takes you directly to the shared model.
If the author makes changes to the shared model, these will be displayed to you the next time you open the model. You yourself can open shared models and – if this has been released by the author – save them as a copy in your model repository via the copy to my models button, but you cannot make any changes to the shared model itself.
For more information on sharing models, see the manage models section.
In the example models section you will find public example models from simcision. Some of the models are available for viewing only, other models can be saved as a copy in your model repository using the copy to my models button and can then be used as a template for your own models.
The my models area represents your personal model repository. Models that you create and save here can only be accessed by yourself. However, you have the possibility to share individual models with other simcision users. You can learn more about this in the manage models section.
- In order to structure your model repository, you can create as many folders as you like.
- Click on the three dots next to the name of a folder to rename, duplicate or delete it.
- Click on new model to create a model in the currently selected folder.
- Use the import model button to open a locally saved model file in simcision.
- Click on open to edit a model.
- The manage button opens the single view of a model. There you can move, export, share, etc. models. You can read more about this in the section manage models.
- This button allows you to customize the display and order of your models.
- You can sort your models either by modification date or alphabetically.
- You can have the model description displayed in the model overview. You can edit the description of a model in the individual view of the model. You can find out more about this in the section manage models.
Click the manage button on a model to open the individual view of the model.
- Using the edit button, you can adjust the model title and description.
- Click the move button to move the model to another folder or team.
- When you lock a model, it is protected against (unwanted) changes. You can still open the model, but you can save changes only as a copy (function is available for team administrators only)
- Click the download button to export a model and thus save it to your local storage device.
- In the share section you can share the model with other simcision users.
The share model button allows you to share a model with other users.
- In the select user area, you will see all users with whom you have already had contact in simcision (Organization, Team, Share).
- Alternatively, you can enter the email address of additional people to share the model with them. You can also copy a list of email addresses into this field.
- In the receiver section you will see a summary of your selection.
- Confirm your entry by clicking the share button.
After sharing, the single view of the model shows you all users with whom the model is shared. By default, users can only view the model, but cannot continue working with it. Modifying the shared model by another user is not possible at any time. However, teams allow you to have a shared model repository.
- Activate the can copy button to allow the user to make a copy of the model.
- You can cancel the permission at any time using the delete icon.
Open the menu on the left to switch from your personal model repository (my models) to your team areas. In the menu, all the teams you are a member of are displayed below the associated organization. Click on a team to open its model repository. On the right side, you will see an overview of the team members.
By clicking the manage team button at the bottom right, you can access the settings of a team and leave it. You can find more information about team management here.
The model repository of a team is basically structured in the same way as your personal model repository. You can find more information about this in the section my models. In addition to the modification date of a model, you can see by which team member the model was last edited.
Models and folders in a team area can be created, edited, moved and deleted by all members. Models can be opened by multiple team members at the same time.
If you want to save changes made to a team model that has been modified and saved by another team member since you opened the model, you will be notified of the save operation. You then have the option …
- to overwrite the changes made in the meantime by another team member with your model version
- to reject your own changes to the model
- to save your changes as a copy of the model to keep both versions
Models in a team can be locked only by members with the admin role. Locked models can be viewed and copied by all team members, but not modified. For more information, see the manage models section.
In simcision you can create a simulation game out of a model. Simulation games are closed simulation models whose effect network and variables are protected against changes. When you open a simulation game, only the analysis, simulation and evaluation sections are available.
To save a model as a simulation game, first open it and then select save as business game in the top left menu. You will then be asked to enter a name and author for the simulation game.
Regarding all other functions, simulation games do not differ from open models in simcision. They can be saved (to preserve performed simulations), renamed, exported and shared with other users. More information about managing and sharing models can be found in the section manage models.